Free AI agents for Slack: what each free plan and trial includes
Most AI agents for Slack let you start free, but "free" means three different things: a permanent free plan, a one-time pool of trial credits, or a time-limited trial. As of October 26, 2026, Geniusly and Dust have free plans, Viktor gives up to $100 in credits that never expire, Junior gives $100 in credit for a limited time, Glad gives 50 tasks once, Lindy gives $50 in credits for 7 days, and OpenTag has a 7-day trial that needs a card. Claude Tag and the ChatGPT Agents app have no free option, and Slackbot is only a limited preview on Slack's Free and Pro plans.
Which AI agents for Slack can you use for free?
| Tool | What you get free | Card needed? | Expires? | Cheapest paid step |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Geniusly | Free plan, $0 to get started | Not stated on the pricing page | Ongoing plan | No paid plan listed |
| Viktor | Up to $100 in credits; every feature | No | Free credits never expire | $50 / month for 20,000 credits, per workspace |
| Junior | $100 credit; Claude Sonnet only, 1 Junior, 3 concurrent sessions | Not stated | Limited time | $100 / month budget |
| Dust | Free tier with 500 credits | Not stated | One lifetime allowance | Pro from 24 per seat per month billed yearly, 8,000 credits (the page showed euros for us) |
| Runbear | Free to start | No | Not stated | $99 / month for 20,000 credits |
| Glad | 50 tasks, once | No | Tasks do not reset | $49 / month for 250 tasks |
| Lindy | $50 in credits | No | 7 days | $29.99 per active user per month |
| OpenTag | 7-day trial of the selected plan | Yes | 7 days or when trial credits run out | $50 / month for 10,000 credits |
| Slackbot | Limited preview on Free and Pro | No | Ends when the preview messages are used | Business+ at $15 per user per month (annual) |
| Claude Tag | None | n/a | n/a | Claude Team plan plus usage |
| ChatGPT Agents app | None | n/a | n/a | Paid Slack plan plus ChatGPT Business, Edu, or Enterprise |
Verified Oct 2026 (October 26) from each vendor's pricing page: Viktor, Junior, Dust, Runbear, Glad, Lindy, OpenTag, Slackbot limits, Slack pricing, Claude Tag, ChatGPT Agents in Slack, and Geniusly pricing. "Not stated" means the page did not say. The order is not a ranking.
What is the difference between a free plan, free credits, and a free trial?
- Free plan: an ongoing tier you can stay on. Usually limited in volume or features, but it does not end on a date.
- One-time credits: a pool you spend at your own pace. Viktor's credits do not expire; Glad's 50 tasks and Dust's 500 credits do not reset. When they run out, the agent pauses until you pay.
- Time-limited trial: full access for a fixed period, often 7 days. Lindy's $50 of credits and OpenTag's trial work this way, and OpenTag starts billing automatically after the trial because it takes a card up front.
For a small team evaluating agents, unexpiring credits are the most forgiving: you can test properly over a few weeks instead of cramming everything into one.
How far do free credits go on real work?
Vendors publish rough task costs, which gives you a sense of scale:
- Viktor: quick tasks such as a Slack summary plus a CRM follow-up use 100 to 300 credits; the $100 Team plan's 40,000 credits is "roughly 80 to 400 tasks" (Viktor pricing).
- Lindy: everyday asks use 2 to 250 credits, and deep work 250 to 1,000 (Lindy pricing).
- Runbear: a quick answer is about 5 credits, a workflow 20 to 50, deep work 300 to 1,500 (Runbear pricing).
- Glad: one task is one request that uses a connected tool or produces a document; a /deep run counts as five, and chatting is free (Glad pricing).
- OpenTag: a weekly report costs about 1,500 credits a month (OpenTag pricing).
Credits are not comparable across vendors. The only fair test is to run the same three tasks on each free tier and read the usage page after each one.
How should you test an AI agent on a free tier?
- Pick one recurring task you already do by hand, such as the Monday status update. A good test is work you can check against what you would have written.
- Use a test channel and connect only the accounts that task needs, read-only where the tool allows it.
- Run it three times: once on demand, once with a correction, once on a schedule.
- Check four things: were the numbers right, did it cite sources, did it ask before posting or sending, and how much of the free allowance did it use.
- Ask a teammate to use it. Shared agents behave differently when someone other than the installer asks. See personal vs shared AI agents.
Before you connect real client accounts, read how to roll out an AI agent in Slack safely.
Which Slack AI agents have no free option?
Claude Tag requires a Claude Team or Enterprise plan and bills channel work by usage. The ChatGPT Agents app requires a paid Slack plan and ChatGPT Business, Edu, or Enterprise. Slackbot on Free and Pro is a limited preview that does not reset; ongoing use starts on Business+, and skills are not available on the Free plan. If you already pay for one of these, start there. We compared them in Claude Tag vs OpenTag vs ChatGPT Agents and the ChatGPT Agents setup guide.
What does the Geniusly free plan include?
Geniusly is an AI coworker for your team in Slack. It reads the accounts you connect (Gmail, Google Drive, Google Sheets, Slack, GitHub, Linear, and Google Ads) and prepares a brief, report, status update, or handoff for a person to review. Connected apps are read-only by default, except Google Sheets edits you explicitly ask for, and Slack messages beyond its reply are posted only after your approval. Anyone in a channel it has been invited to can ask it for work, it can run a task once, daily, or weekly, and it has a Free plan.
The pricing page lists the Free plan as $0 to get started, with seven app connections (Gmail, Google Drive, Google Sheets, Slack, GitHub, Linear, and Google Ads), scheduled tasks once, daily, or weekly, Google Sheets create and edit on request, and short follow-ups on WhatsApp and text. Stripe, Jira, Salesforce, HubSpot, and Confluence are listed as coming soon. For the full field, see the best AI coworkers for Slack in 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free AI agent for Slack?
Yes. Geniusly and Dust have free plans, and Viktor, Junior, Runbear, Glad, and Lindy offer free credits or trials without a card. OpenTag's 7-day trial requires a card. Claude Tag and the ChatGPT Agents app require paid plans.
Which free Slack AI agent trial lasts longest?
Among the credit offers, Viktor says its free credits (up to $100) never expire. Glad's 50 tasks and Dust's 500 credits are one-time allowances with no end date stated. Lindy's $50 in credits lasts 7 days, and Junior's $100 credit is for a limited time.
Is Slackbot free?
Only as a limited preview on Slack's Free and Pro plans. Once the preview messages are used, Slackbot stops unless you upgrade or enable Flex Credits. Business+ includes 15 Slackbot messages per member per week.
Do I need a credit card to try AI agents in Slack?
Usually not. Viktor, Runbear, Glad, and Lindy say no card is needed for their free credits. OpenTag requires a card for its trial and starts billing after 7 days or when trial credits run out.
